Students Honored for Achievement

Students Honored for Achievement

Justin Budan with Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds and Governor Terry Branstad.

Two Ottumwa High School seniors, Justin Budan and Kalina Eskew, were among over 400 seniors from across Iowa who were recently honored during the 15th Annual Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony in Des Moines.

The Governor's Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and Iowa Farm Bureau Federation presented this recognition program. Budan and Eskew were selected as Ottumwa High School’s highest academic achievers. Each student received a photo plaque and a certificate to commemorate their achievement. Natalie Dommer and Mark Voelliger were recognized as the student’s most influential teachers and each received a certificate of appreciation.

“Kalina and Justin are outstanding students and excellent ambassadors of Ottumwa High School,” said OHS principal, Mark Hanson. “I am pleased and proud that they are representing OHS for the Governor's Award.”

Kalina Eskew receives an award from Iowa's governor and lieutenant governor

Kalina Eskew with Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds and Governor Terry Branstad.