Board of Education

Ottumwa voters elect seven residents at-large to serve on the Board of Directors. Staggered four-year terms assure continuity. Current board members are: David Weilbrenner, President; Jeremy Weller, Vice-President; Jeff Bittner, Morgan Brown, Brian Jones, Nancy Manson, and Christina Schark.

The board meets on the second Monday of each month in the Evans Middle School Media Center, located at 812 Chester Avenue. All meetings are open to the public.

The Board of Directors of the Ottumwa Community School District is committed to a quality education for every student. The objective of this philosophy is to help each child develop into a mature individual and a contributing member of society. The board believes that this objective can best be met through a school program wide enough in scope to encompass the intellectual, physical, civic, social and aesthetic education of children.

The district does not discriminate against any applicant, employee or student on the basis of race, color, age, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status (for programs), socioeconomic status (for programs), disability, religion or creed. The board requires all persons, agencies, vendors, contractors and other persons and organizations doing business with or performing services for the school district to subscribe to all applicable federal and state laws, executive orders, rules and regulations pertaining to contract compliance and equal opportunity.

Meeting times subject to change with prior notice.

JAN 27
FEB 10
FEB 24
MAR 23
APR 13
APR 27
MAY 11
MAY 26