Students Demonstrate Creativity with Inventions

Students Demonstrate Creativity with Inventions

Camdyn Crouse, winner

Thirty-six elementary and middle school students from the Ottumwa Community School District recently demonstrated their ingenuity by creating inventions for this year’s Invention Convention held on Tuesday, January 30 at Liberty Elementary.  

The Overall Champion of the 2018 Invention Convention was Camdyn Crouse with "The North Pole Snowball Maker." Entries winning "Judges' Choice" were: Colton Moore with "Pillow Tent;" Talise Plate with "The Sewing Ring and Duo;" Gracie Beinhart and Alyssa Gatlin with "H2O Proof Shoes;" Brandon Hemminger and Melkin Bonilla-Noyola with "B.S.B.: Better Snow Balls;" and Morgan Voss with "Portable Ports."    All students participating in the event received a certificate and medal.  The "Judges' Choice" and Overall Champion winners received additional prizes.  The State Invent Iowa Competition will be held in Iowa City on Monday, April 16, sponsored by the Belin-Blank Center at the University of Iowa.  

STEM activities were provided for students at the event.  At the awards ceremony, Dericah Denniston was the winner of the free Camp Invention scholarship, a $225 value.  Camp Invention is a week-long summer STEM program for students who will be in grades K-6 for the 2018-2019 school year.  Camp Invention will be hosted at Evans Middle School from July 9th-July 13th.  For more information or to register your child, visit  

The local Invention Convention is presented each year by the Ottumwa Community School District’s Talented and Gifted Program.  John Deere Ottumwa Works sponsored medals for the event and Domino's Pizza donated pizza certificates.  The event coordinator was Breanna Hinmon, K-5 TAG teacher at Douma and Liberty Elementary, with help from other district TAG teachers, LeAnn Oldenburger, Heidi Bradford, and Brooke Gevock. 

Student participants included: First Grade, Adriana Hoffman, Horace Mann Elementary; Payton Kendrick, Douma Elementary; Third Grade, Isabella Hoffman and Lanessa Montejo, Horace Mann Elementary; Colton Moore, Liberty Elementary; Fifth Grade, Meika Sloan, Kate Pagorek, and Camdyn Crouse, Eisenhower Elementary; Gracie Beinhart, Alyssa Gatlin, Emma Fogle, Autumn Damm, Brandon Hemminger, Melkin Bonilla-Noyola, Dericah Denniston, Angel Maudlin, Gwen Sutherland, Trailyn Thomas, Morgan Voss, Mayc Seamans, Trinity Whennen, Stephen Blaine, and Daryck Ellis, Liberty Elementary; Carlos Jimenez, Donovan Wilson, Adolfo Rodriguez-Andrade, and Leyn Castellanos, Wilson Elementary; Talise Plate, KJ Burtch, Hayden Bates, Jocelyn Thompson, and Cami Pauls, Horace Mann Elementary; Sixth Grade, Hanna Talbert, Evans Middle School; and Seventh Grade, Makynna Beinhart, Mya Lemonds, and Carter Kendrick, Evans Middle School.

A special thanks to the following for assisting with the event: Ann Youngman, Dawn Sievertsen and Anne Clark, Liberty Elementary administrators; Teri King, TAG Director; Nici King, 1st grade teacher at Wilson Elementary; Sophia Ford, Carollin Mellin, Isabelle Mellin, Ryan Eddy, and Josie Young, Ottumwa High School student helpers; Liberty Elementary custodial staff; Amy Crouse-Spurgeon, Tonya and Rich Damm, Rebecca Hemminger, Saskija Plate, and Afton Bates.  

Invention Convention winners     student with Invention

Judges Choice and Overall Winner                                                 Camdyn Crouse with her snowball maker